FEARMONGER FEARMONGER MAKE ME A FEAR

match

I continually react in disgust to the fearmongering generated by Donald Trump, Ben Carson, and Ted Cruz in the agglomeration of news of ISIS  and Syrian refugees and Mexican immigrants and government assisted health care, or anything government assisted, and taxes and any other phenomenon they paint as an existential threat to the United States

There are many other guilty parties and not all are Republicans but this is my blog and I can pick on whomever I want.

None of those are threats…at least not in the way they are characterized.

Then we have the gun nuts, already armed to the teeth, rushing to acquire more firepower after the Paris attacks or any event they believe requires an armed response, even if the “threat” comes from people who are decidedly unarmed or thousands of miles away.

That has provoked in my mind the ear worm of the song from Fiddler On The Roof called Matchmaker Matchmaker. You can view a delightful version below. 

But my ear worm, while employing the instrumental part, has lyrics that are quite different.

And imagine the three pictured above as singing.

Fearmonger, Fearmonger
Make me a fear
Find me a villain
To attack this year
Fearmonger, Fearmonger
Look through your book
And find me a perfect fear

Fearmonger Fearmonger
I’ll bring the lies
You give me the name
Of whom to despise
Preferably brown
Bring me a cause for I’m longing to put
An innocent person down

For Carson
Make him like Darwin

For Ted Cruz
Make him want more taxing

For Trump well
He will not holler
If he were a loser at everything

Fearmonger, Fearmonger
Make me a fear
Find me a threat
Soon to appear
Night after night in the dark I’m alone
So find me a fear
Of my own

(Much dialogue between the three)

Fearmonger, Fearmonger
I have no brains
I’ve never learned
That playing with fears
Can get U.S. burned
So
Bring me a fear
Let me preach doom
If you don’t find
A threat this year
I will make up my own fear

With the deepest apologies to Fiddler lyricist Sheldon Harnick.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Devildog  On November 21, 2015 at 10:33 AM

    Yes, it is your blog and you can pick on whomever you want. I do like your melody.

  • Little_Minx  On November 21, 2015 at 12:17 PM

    Just read in the news that now Trump is “walking back” his database idea — rather than “doubling down,” as is his wont — and instead trying to blame the reporter who asked him about it (imagine! journalists doing their job). Perhaps Trump’s campaign will come undone not by liberal opponents but by some of his own supporters, who might now accuse him of going “soft on terrorists.” (N.B. that Mahatma Gandhi and Yitzhak Rabin ran, ahem, permanently afoul of extremists in their OWN groups who regarded them as traitors to their respective causes).

    • Little_Minx  On November 21, 2015 at 12:25 PM

      (Trump only wants a database for Syrian refugees, not for all Muslims in America.)

      • umoc193  On November 21, 2015 at 2:58 PM

        I thought the database and ID requirements might be somewhat overblown as passed along that interwebby thing. But really, a database of the refugees is created when they register with the UN certifying authority. And the those admitted to the U.S. will face providing info that will be recorded and saved.

        The chief evil would be to use that database to constantly track them as opposed to being able to refer to the data as required as their status evolves, as is normal in immigration situations. After all we are all in some government database, SS, Medicare, Military retirement, etc. But if Obama’s keeping tabs on what I’m buying at Kroger I vow to never vote for him again.

        • Devildog  On November 21, 2015 at 4:17 PM

          Why? What do you have to fear? The government? Are you one of those rwnj’s? What do you buy at Kroger?

          • umoc193  On November 22, 2015 at 3:26 PM

            I don’t fear much except the inevitabilty of my own demise…driven home by recently learning of the health struggles of several friends in my age bracket.

            As to what I buy at Kroger…what are you? The Diet Police? I swear I have not come close to Ben and Jerry’s for many months.

            • Devildog  On November 22, 2015 at 3:38 PM

              Fear not! God loves you!

            • Devildog  On November 22, 2015 at 3:43 PM

              Not the diet police. NSA wanting to see if you don’t purchase any pig product. “We” know you are not Jewish from your postings-well, maybe you are an extreme, ultra-orthodox Jew against the creation of Israel.

    • Devildog  On November 21, 2015 at 4:14 PM

      And Trump’s supporters are the ones who have all the guns.

      • umoc193  On November 22, 2015 at 3:27 PM

        Nah, that weapons ownership is probably pretty spread out among all the GOP candidates, and even many of the Dem. candidates on all levels.

        • Devildog  On November 22, 2015 at 3:44 PM

          Yeah, but who do the nutjobs, clinging to their guns, support?

Please give me your thoughts.

