I AM IN HEAVEN!!! YIPPEE YIPPEE YIPPEE

I am digesting the news that the Supreme Court has upheld the Affordable Care Act. I had analyzed the law up one side and down the other and had read the views of many legal experts who concluded it should be upheld. But with the current SCOTUS one never knew.

This will mean good things for millions of our citizens.

I think of one friend of mine who has been going through terrible financial hardship for the past few years. Strangely he has been against the law. I’ve asked him why. Recently he told me he objected to the mandate because he would be forced to pay a tax for coverage he could not afford. Further he had complaints that he was not eligible for Medicaid.

My response was that the mandate did not go into effect until 2014 so he might be in better personal fiscal shape by then. Even if he is not, there are exemptions from the tax due to financial hardship.

In addition the new Medicaid provisions also become effective in 2014. That means that insurance will be available to anyone earning no more than 133% of poverty level income. Thus, were his woes to continue, he could get coverage.

This is what I posted on my Facebook page as soon as I heard the news:

 

THE AFFORDABLE CARE ACT LIVES!!!!!YIPPEEE
YIPPEEE
YIPPEEETAKE THAT ALL YOU TEA BAGGERS!!

IN YOUR FACE!

AND I’LL BE AS ANNOYING AS I WANT IN VICTORY SINCE YOU’VE BEEN SO ANNOYING OBNOXIOUS AND DISGUSTING IN THE LIES YOU’VE TOLD ABOUT THE LAW.

Hey, Mitt! You should be especially glad since it’s based on your Mass. law.

Hey Heritage Foundation! You should be especially glad since it’s based on proposals developed by you.

 
No gracious winner I.
 
The unfortunate thing, which perhaps now the country will have the courage to address, is that there are still profound problems with our health care system. I have written on these problems extensively and may revisit them as opportunity and events dictate.
 
I claim one other victory that may be lost in the shuffle. The Stolen Valor Act has been overturned.
 
I have not written on this issue in my blog but have exchanged comments with fellow followers of the now defunct blog, Reg on Wry, in the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette.
 
My position was that anyone who claimed military honors they had not earned was a despicable human being. But unless they used such lies as a basis to also obtain unearned benefits, they are not criminals.
 
I do not throw this in the face of my fellow commenters, many of whom I am in agreement with on many other topics. But I hope you understand my reasoning and that of the Court. (I haven’t read the decision yet.) I do understand your outrage at someone who would make these unjustified claims.
 
PEACE
Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Richard wood  On June 28, 2012 at 5:39 PM

    Two quick comments, UMOC.

    1.) I am generally extremely cynical regarding, well, all things, but politics in particular, so I am very happy (and surprised) that a Bush appointee did not strike down the Affordable Care Act. Nice to know that the principles of our Constitution, (and the separation of powers) actually worked.

    2.) I very strongly suspect that opposition to the Act (and the “mandate”) will be viewed as hopelessly anachronistic and reactionary in a very few years, just as the provisions of the Civil Rights act are now, by practically everybody.

    Peace -Out
    thescarletpumpernickel

    • umoc193  On June 28, 2012 at 7:43 PM

      You mean the Civil Rights Act that’s accepted by everyone but Rand Paul.

Please give me your thoughts.

